News RSS

A-finals and Personal Success for Wascana Athletes at CKC Sprint Nationals

Congratulations to our WRCC team of athletes who competed at the CKC Sprint National Championships this past August in Ottawa, Ontario. Despite the obstacles and unsureness caused by the pandemic, our athletes managed to take on a strong field of athletes at the regatta and earn notable placings. Here is a summary of the results, for all the results please visit Canoe Kayak Canada | Results Senior Women's K1 1000m B-Final: Aysha Sparrowhawk 6th U17 Men's C1 1000m B-Final: Finn Grahame-King 6th U16 Men's K1 1000m A-Final: Nicholas Lahaye 4th U16 Women's K1 200m C-Final: Zoe Mortin 5th  U16 Women's K1 500m A-Final: Zoe Mortin 7th U16 Men's K1 500m B-Final: Nicholas Lahaye 2nd  

Continue reading

New Covid-19 Health Measures

As per the new health measures released September 17 for the province of Saskatchewan, we now require masks in all indoor facilities. "Effective Friday, September 17, 2021 an interim province-wide mandatory masking order will be implemented for all indoor public spaces, including schools.Indoor public spaces are any enclosed space other than a private home or dwelling.  This may include but is not exclusive to workplaces, retail locations, recreational venues, eating and dining establishments and professional buildings.  “Indoor public spaces” includes those areas of a business or venue that are restricted to staff only (areas where there is no access for the public)." We will be watching for any updates as they come and thank you in advance for your cooperation....

Continue reading

Congratulations Floyd!

R. Edgar Gilbert Award Congratulations to Floyd Fry, who was presented with the R. Edgar Gilbert Award in the Official category on Thursday, August 26, 2021 at Mooney’s Bay. Floyd is a long time official in the Prairie Division and has dedicated many of service to the sport of paddling.  Floyd was the Chief Official of the Sprint Nationals this year.The purpose of the R. Edgar Gilbert Award is to recognize those volunteers who have made significant and exemplary contributions to the Sprint Racing Discipline of Canoe Kayak Canada in any one or more of the Builder Category, Official Category, and Coach Category.

Continue reading